2020 BBLF CK Prahalad Best Business Book Award

Shortlisted Books

Saying No to Jugaad - The Making of Bigb
Bridgital Nation - Solving Technology's
How I Almost Blew It.jpg
The CEO Factory - Management Lessons fro
Big Billion Startup - The Untold Flipkar

The Jury for 2020

Rishikesh Krishnan

Prof. Rishikesha T. Krishnan

Author, Director, IIM Bangalore
Narayan Ramachandran.jpg

Narayan Ramachandran

Writer, social entrepreneur, columnist and emerging market investor. He was head of global emerging market investing and country head of Morgan Stanley in India. 

Meena Raghunathan

Advisor CSR, Skills, Education for Sustainable Development. Writer, Editor, Blogger


2019 - 2nd Edition of the Award

No shortcuts
are you the leder you want to be
the made in inida manager
dont startup

This annual award was instituted in memory of late management guru CK Prahalad. It recognizes and rewards the most original, impactful and thought-provoking business book published in India in the past year.


Shortlist Methodology

Process 1

The books selected are those published between January 1, 2018 to 31 Dec 2018.

We shortlisted 25 books based on reader rating and reviews

Of these the shortlisted 5 got highest average rating on Amazon, Goodreads and Flipkart for a period up to July 30, 2019 and highest number of reviews on the same platforms.

Books that are not included in the selection process

  1. Self help business books

  2. Ones that are largely a selection of case stories with limited original content

  3. Corporate hagiographies

  4. Books on macro-economics

Selection Process 2 – by the Jury


All the 5 books now have equal points when we begin the selection process


2. This is to eliminate biases, author’s popularity and a vast difference in marketing spend.

On a score of 1 to 5 (1 minimum – 5 maximum), the jury gives points based on each of the following two criteria. (Even decimals are used)


Criteria one – How original is the theme of the book?


Criteria two – How this book could be a game-changer, a major influencer, how inspiring is the story to its readers, how useful is the content of the book to its readers.

The book that gets the highest average of the scores from the two criteria is taken to declare the winner. 


This methodology is developed internally.


The award criteria/methodology will be validated by


The award comprises a citation and a cash prize of Rs. One Lakh, sponsored by CK Prahalad’s family.

Kantar IMRB.jpg

The Jury for 2019

harish baijoor.jpg

Harish Bijoor

CEO, Harish Bijoor Consults

Rishikesh Krishnan

Prof. Rishikesha T. Krishnan

Author, Faculty, IIM Bangalore

2018 - 1st Edition of the Award


2018 BBLF CK Prahalad

Best Business Book Award

Subroto Bagchi

Short Listed Books for the Award

Sell Book
Gods own kitchen cropped.jpg
God's own kitchen

The Jury for 2018

harish baijoor.jpg

Harish Bijoor

CEO, Harish Bijoor Consults


Priya Chetty Rajagopal

Priya Chetty-Rajagopal

Founder, Multiversal Advisory



We acknowledge the contribution of the following people to the process of instituting the award.

S Visvanathan, Senior Executive Director (South), Kantar IMRB - for helping finalise the selection methodology.

Sangeeta Mansur - for her sharp insights on the selection criterion.


Presented by

Rishabh Media Network

22, 1st A Main, GM Palya, Bangalore - 560075. 91-80-41126557

benedict@managementnext.com / benedict99@gmail.com

© 2023 by Horizon. Proudly created with Wix.com